Can't find confirmation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can't find confirmation

Hi, I'm new to this and can't find confirmation of Alexander Lessels c1803 (other spelling possibilities - Lesslis, lessils, lesils, lesslis) who married Elizabeth Durie c1805, possibly in St Andrews and St Leonards, Fife area.

Elizabeth Durie, age 40, on 1851 Census as daur to Margaret Durie (head) and there is also grandchild as Alex Lessels age 18.

I'll spell it out better as I know it:-

Alex Lessels c1803, Married, Eliz Durie c1805
    they had Alex lessels c1832, who married, Janet Mitchell c1831
    who had James Durie Lessels 1857-1944, married Grace Harris (my grandparents).

Any help would be appreciated.

Have you tried Scotlands People which is a pay per view site but which is the best site for finding Scottish ancestors for parish records pre 1855 as well as statutory records for those records post 1855.

Genealogy Scottish family birth records census ancestry Scotland uk - ScotlandsPeople

Also the Family Search site via LDS records will also give very good results for Scottish ancestors as most are extracted church. I extracted from LDS first and then used the Scotlands people site to confirm my findings.

FamilySearch.org - Family History and Genealogy Records

Janet

Comment

Thanks Janet,

I tried both of those but being new to searching I may have missed something. There are sooo many Lessels, I hadn't realized that as my dad died when I was a small child and we lost contact with that side of the family.

I want to make sure I get the correct Alexander or I can't go any further in any direction.

but thanks.

Comment

This is the only Elizabeth Durie marriage on Scotlands People OPR index. The spouse is incorrect unless Elizabeth was married before.
        12/04/1822 DURIE ELIZABETH to JAMES AUCHTERLONIE FR5559 F St Andrews and St Leonards /FIFE
        Margaret

Comment