Brickwall has crumbled a little.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brickwall has crumbled a little.

I posted back in January about my search for likely parents of Charles Albert Terry (b 1909). The mother, Agnes Rose Terry (nee Culver) registered his birth, stating his father to be Albert Victor Terry, stonemason journeyman. I've been unable to find a marriage for them, but I am 99% certain that I have the right mother. The only Agnes R Culver in any Census returns lived in Broad Oak, near Canterbury. I have discovered that the occupants of the house where the baby was born were Agnes (confusingly) - born in Adlington, Kent and Thomas Tye. My reasoning - the only Agnes to marry a Thomas Tye was an Agnes Clarke, born in Adlington (Ag.Rose's mother, Rose, was a Clarke); the Tyes had a son - William on the 1901 Census, whose middle name was Gladish (Ag.Rose's grandmother's maiden name).

As I've said before, I'm a novice - but does this sound rational? If it does, then there's a glimmer of light for one parent, BUT how do I get the same break through with Albert Victor Terry? Is it likely that it was the one living less than two miles away from Agnes in 1901/1911? If stonemason journeyman wasn't a flight of fancy on Ag.Rose's part, how likely is it that a man who was a bricklayer in 1901 and a coalmerchant/butcher in 1911, would have been a stonemason - would there have been any records? As I said before, this Albert's father was Charles, which might explain the baby's names. Any ideas - please?

It's not unknown for parents to be "promoted" for the purposes of registration - especially for weddings. Or maybe he had trouble getting stonemason work, and had to get what he could, for whatever reason.

Christine