Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stacey (Vickers/Oates) Family tree

Hello all,

After the recent death of my father, I realised that I know very little about his family and that of my mothers, I have started to document a family tree and would like to ask for your help in getting started, I have never done this before and it all seems quite bewildering on where to start. the info I have so far is:

Raymond Desmond Stacey (My Father) Born 11/09/1938 in the East Harting area. Died 01/05/2009 in Ilfracombe N. Devon
    Arthur George Stacey (Grandad) (Farmer) no D.O.B. but died before I was born
    Lillian Maude Vickers (Granmother) (Housewife) no D.O.B. but died before I was born

Name removed as possible living person (My Mother) Born 17/10/1951 in Birmingham
    Garfield Oates (Grandad) no D.O.B. but died before I was born
    Alice Parkes (Grandmother) no D.O.B. but died before I was born

I also have most of the info on my uncles on my mothers side and one on my father side, I will be contacting them shortly to flesh out the info I already have.

Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated

Thankyou
    Carl Stacey
    Last edited by Darksecretz; 03-06-09, 21:50. Reason: possible living person name removed.

Hi Carl

Welcome to the site and good luck with your research

As you know the names of your grandparents I would suggest getting their marriage certificate from the GRO, this will give you their ages when they married and also their fathers names and occupations.

Once you have this information you can search for a birth certificate for both you grandmother and grandfather, which can also be ordered from the GRO.

The earliest census available is the 1911, if both your grandparents were born before then you may find them on there with their families.

We have a great reference library on this site called the Wiki that has loads of information and links to helpful sites

Good luck
    Vikki -