Tracing Draft Dodgers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tracing Draft Dodgers

Hi, Can anyone please give me advise on how I can trace my grandfather lineage back, who was put in prison for "draft evading".
    He moved to Hayes in Middlesex to evade "call up" to which service I do not know?
    When he arrived in Middlesex he called himself "John Leach" or "Jack" to his friends. He was a stone Mason/ Bricklayer by Trade. He never married while living in Hayes., but was with my grandmother from around 1940ish till he died in 1958

The only info I have on him is; he was born in Yorkshire (somewhere around Halifax, Durham or Lancashire) between 1903-1906, He apparently had one sister. His real name is believed to be "John Sedgewick" or "Sedgwick" or "Sedjwick".
    I have searched the 1911 census for him, but until I can find out his father or mothers name... It has been unsuccessful.

What I would really like to know is there anyway I can find out any info about the draft papers or which prison he done his time in.
    I have no living relatives on my dads side left alive to remember my grandfather other than my dad but sadly he was only 14 when his dad died, and does not remember much about him.

If anyone could guide me in the right direction., I'd be very grateful.
    Thank you
    Mez

Hi,
    Welcome to FTF.
    You need to start by getting his full name. Is he named on your father's birth certificate? You say he never married your grandmother, how do you know that?
    Not sure whether you would find any papers relating to imprisonment and if you could you would need to know his proper name.
    Do you have any idea of his sister's name?
    The places you mention as to where he could have been born are vast areas of the country so it will be difficult to pin down his exact birth details from which you would find his parents names.
    Have you got his death certificate?
    Margaret

Comment