Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Visiting Burton on Trent

Hello all,

I am planning to visit Burton on Trent Family History Section in their main library in order to try to confirm LDS igi index leads on the Stonehouse family. So far I have Samuel Stonehouse born about 1825 in Burton upon Trent who moved to Manchester and I have the marriage certificate to confirm he wed Mary Stretton. My question is how would I best prepare for my visit to Burton Library? What records can I expect to find there?

Many thanks,

Julia (a complete novice at Family history research!)

Hi Julia

I live in Burton.

Where abouts in Burton did he live. You will need to know that to decide which parish register to look at in the library.
    They do have them on film.

Comment

Also, is there anything I can help with?

Where are you now, I could perhaps save you the trip.

Comment

Hi Margaret,

I'm on the Nottinghamshire/Derbyshire border so not far away from Burton on Trent. On the LDS IGI index it just says Samuel Stonehouse, Christening 27 MAY 1821, Burton Upon Trent, Stafford, England. No name of a church is given but the Parents are named as Samuel Stonehouse and Mary. This would correspond with the census returns for him over the years. I suppose I am just curious to how far back I can go with my family name, so my first instinct was to go to Burton where he was born! Any tips on researching earlier than the census returns or BMD indeces started would be gratefully recieved!

Many thanks,

Julia

Comment

I'll have to check, going out in a minute, but I think it will be St Modwen's in the Market Place. That's going by the date as most of the others churches weren't built then. The only other one it probably could be Holy Trinity which has now been demolished.

Burton Library do have parish registers on film but they only have two film readers in the local studies library. Best to book and not have a wasted journey.

Comment