Are you a member of GOONS?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are you a member of GOONS?

I have just applied to join and am getting a bit mixed up with variants.
    Some Brewertons (the name I am studying) may have come from Brereton and some Brewertons have changed to Brereton. Those who have changed have been recorded in my study.
    However Brereton is a name that stands by itself. If I put it down on the list of variants am I expected to carry out a study on this name which is much larger than Brewertons?
    Many thanks
    Jeanie
    If it's to be, it's up to me.
    Searching for:
    English: Brewerton, Wilkes, Edwards, Broughton, Piercy, Brundred, Homer, Parry, Wynn, Nock, Noden, Standley and Taylor.

Scottish: McDougall,Gemmell, Hunter, Stewart, Campbell, Downs, Galt, Frew, Hill, Hand, Main, Thomson, McLarty and Murdock.

I dont know what GOONS is.

One name study? I'm not a member anyway, sorry.
    Jules

I'anson of Lincolnshire and Yorkshire. Bannister of Lincolnshire. Burnett of Northumberland. Carter of Sussex and Hampshire. Goldring of Sussex and Hampshire. Fitzgerald of Goodness knows where. Smith of Yorkshire and Lincolnshire. Dixon of Lincolnshire. Payne of Hampshire

Comment

I sent a message to a person who was doing a name I was interested in and didn't get a reply.

Researching Irish families: FARMER, McBRIDE McQUADE, McQUAID, KIRK, SANDS/SANAHAN (Cork), BARR,

Comment

JBee
        You should have had a reply.It is one of the conditions of acceptance that the registered researcher will reply and share information.
        Try again and if there's still no reply, contact the actual GOONS administrators.

Jeanie
        I'm not sure of the ruling, but I can see your problem.
        I help to collect information for a friend who is registered. She has 4 variants, which seem to be interchangeable even within a small family group, so she has logged for example all the BMDs for all 4 surnames.