Ireland question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ireland question

Hi iam new on this site, i have been doing family history for 9 years but i have just come across someone that was born in Dublin.

I have been to my post office and they dont do Euro postal orders,
    I have phoned my bank and they wanted to charge £18 on top of what i would have to pay for the certificate, for an international draft.
    The bank also said i cannot send a normal cheque.
    Also i have tryed phoning the civil reg office in Roscommon,Ireland but it just says i cannont connect to that number.

Any help would be greatful on how to order the ceriticate has anyone else been able to apply for one if so how did you do?

Have you downloaded the application form from the GRO website - it says you can pay by Visa and Mastercard credit cards
    The General Register Office Ireland

- and welcome to FTF!
    Elaine

Comment

Yes, I ordered a cert from Ireland recently with no problems; I downloaded the form from their website and paid by credit card. It does take a while for the cert to arrive but that would be the same whatever method you use to pay I'm sure.
      KiteRunner

Every five years or so I look back on my life and I have a good... laugh"
      (Indigo Girls, "Watershed")

Comment

I too have ordered loads of certificates from Roscommon by post. Download the application form enter all known details and add credit card number.

You will get a receipt back, with the certificate, in €'s but the charge will be in £'s on your credit card bill.
        teresa

Comment

Brilliant thankyou very much everyone i have been for about a month trying to work out how to do it.
          i had already downloaded the forms but i couldnt work out the payment.
          I will now send it off tomorrow.

Comment