help dating photo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help dating photo

I'd appreciate opinions on the date of this photo so I can maybe work out which of my ancestors these are.I have "inherited" 4 of the same photo and 1 printed on glass in pale colours.My grandfather and his 3 sisters all had a copy so I think it must be a direct ancestor but how far back?My great grandfather was born 1864 and married 1885 but the couple bear no resemblance to my great grandparents.The couple seem to be working people,both have hard working hands.Looking forward to hearing what anyone thinks,I've been puzzling over this photo since I got it about 20 years ago when the last of my great aunts died.
    Liz
    Attached Files
    my avatar is Emily Varndell Andrews,my paternal grandmother born 1891

Hi Liz

Unfortunately the photo comes up really small and I can't make out any of the detail, particularly the photographer's name etc which is often useful for dating.

Could you put the photo on using Photobucket - that way it will be reproduced in much higher resolution.

There is a guide to using Photobucket here if you haven't used it before

How to Use Photobucket - Family Tree Forum
    Jackie

Comment

photo help

Hi Jackie
      thanks I'll try that later.Just about to take children to school .Fraid I'm dependent on computer whizz also known as younger daughter for such complicated stuff as adding photo to message !!
      Liz

Comment

My first thoughts are that this was a study taken in the 1860's going by the attire of both adults but a better image, as Jackie has suggested, would be of help to get more information from the image.

don

Comment

bailey ancestor

here it is hopefully a better size!

Comment

I agree with Don as to the dates, but I wish the baby was clearer as it looks really like a post mortem photo.

Comment