Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Garner/Morris Family [ South Texas ]

Greetings,

I'm a newbie, starting at the absolute beginning. So, pls forgive me for any wrongs that I might ask...

I'm looking for information regarding the Garner family line and I have very limited information.

Father - Frank William Garner [ Deceased / On/About May 1982 ]
    Mother - Still alive
    Siblings - Myself and my sister

The only information on my father that I have is that he was born somewhere in Dallas, his father was a police chief and/or high ranking police officer (from what I could tell a somewhat wealthy family (as compared to my own)).

My Mum is coming over next weekend so I'll be pestering her for her family line (Morris / Beeville area is all I know) but its like pulling teeth! ;)

Anyway, I am very interested in learning about the family line and history and right now I'm just hodge-podge collecting pieces that fit the mold, which I know is wrong. So, I'm compiling two systems one is my make it fit the mold one and my other system will be the proper citations, footnotes and 100% confirmations w/ documentation. But for now, its just fun.

I am seeking information on books and/or free resources for beginners. If you have any suggestions on the family line and/or where to go pls e-mail - thomas.roy.garner@gmail.com and/or here. Thank you very much for your assistance.

v/r
    Tom Garner
    Aransas Pass, Texas
    Last edited by TRGarner; 22-02-09, 22:11.

The first thing that will help you, is your parents marriage certificate (if there is one) as it should contain at least the name of his father.

Look at our Wiki page about Texas for some useful links - Texas - Family Tree Forum

There are also links on this site Texas Genealogy for the whole of Texas. It does say they are all free, so it would be another good starting point for you.