Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help I've got a problem with FTM 2008

*****sorted now thank you*****

I'm not sure whether this should be on the Computer Problem thread or this one.

I loaded FTM 2008 onto my PC three days ago, after having it for about 5 months! I've never used FTM before. I decided to copy my tree from GR onto it, add a bit, then upload it onto this site. All OK.

Yesterday I added some more info onto FTM and saved it as I did before (backed it up into a file in My Documents). Now when I try to open it I get the error message Family Tree Maker 2008 has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

This happens if I try the shortcut on my desktop and the programme from Program Files. Is there anything I can do or have I lost it all?
    Last edited by LangleyValeSue; 08-02-09, 11:52.
    My avatar is my Great Grandmother Emma Gumbert

Sue at Langley Vale

Don't know what the problem is but you could try un-installing it and re-installing it. Your file will still be there if you backed it up. If you have a gedcom of your tree, you will be able to open that in any family tree program.
    Wendy

PLEASE SCAN AT 300-600 DPI FOR RESTORATION PURPOSES. THANK YOU!

Comment

Thanks Wendy. I'll try uninstalling then reinstalling.

I do have a Gedcom of my tree, but it wants to open with FTM. I don't know how to open it with another family tree program. I do also have PAF 5, can I open the Gedcom with that even though it is saved in FTM?

Sorry, my brain seems to have frozen today and it's probably a silly question.

Sue at Langley Vale

Comment

You should be able to Import the Gedcom into any program. Look in the Menu of PAF 5 and see if there is an "Import gedcom" option.
        Wendy

PLEASE SCAN AT 300-600 DPI FOR RESTORATION PURPOSES. THANK YOU!

Comment