Scotlands People?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scotlands People?

I'm trying to find my Grandfather who I think may have been born in Scotland in 1912. I've never used Scotlands People before and the first time I went to search I thought it had the option for adding mother's maiden name, but it doesn't seem to be there now. :(

I'm confused and a bit frustrated as he had a really common name and I've not got much to go on other than I think my Dad had his father's mother's maiden name as his middle name.

I've not posted his name as I have no idea if he is alive or dead, I'd guess dead but I can't be sure.

Any help or advice gratefully received.

Clare
    Clare

Births only go up to 1906. I don't see anywhere to add Maiden name. If it was there, it's not now. I don't recall it being there though, unless you were looking at OPRs?

If you want a cert, you will need to contact the GROS - General Register Office for Scotland - Family Records - How to Order an Official Extract
    They should also be able to take the maiden name from you, to enable an easier search.
    Tracy

Comment

I thought I had results for births in 1911/12/13! Obviously not!

I don't even know if it is her maiden name, it is just a hunch I had from things I half remember from when I was younger and I thought it might rule things out.

I'm not sure what to do as if it isn't her maiden name I have no idea what to do
      Clare

Comment

If you call them and explain the situation, you may find them willing to help (for a fee of course lol)

Perhaps you were looking on Ancestry or FreeBMD for the birth? Although Ancestry has Scottish censuses, it only has England & Wales from the UK BMD records.

Do you know if he had any siblings who may be easier to trace? Some of mine with really common names had siblings with uncommon names so they were easier to track.
        Tracy

Comment

Originally posted by claretaylor22 View Post