Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• birth certs

Hi all,
    sorry but i'm totally new to all this forum stuff!
    hopefully this is not a silly question! Is there anyway to view birth CERTIFICATES freely without paying a fee? (in the U.K.) i really want to trace my family tree but finances are sparse! i know my dads D.O.B. and even a ref page for that birth but not being knowledgable in this field i'm lost! any help?

There is no such thing as a silly question, its the most sensible way of finding out what you don't know.

No, you can't view birth certs unless you buy them. If you have the ref it will be £7. I understand the bit about finances but family history isn't cheap, though there are lots of free resources.

I would strongly advise that you get birth certs for at least your parents and grandparents to enable you to go back.
    ~ with love from Little Nell~
    Chowns, Dunt, Emms, Mealing, Purvey & Smoothy

Comment

Hello geeze and Welcome to FTF.

I know how expensive this can be, but you do need the confirmation otherwise you can go for miles in the wrong direction.

A lot of us here (me included) have done that.

Have you asked your family if they already have any certs? Sometimes you need them (in Australia anyway) for starting school or getting driver's licences, etc. You may find there are already some around and you can photocopy them.

Comment

You don't say which part of the UK your family are from. If they are from Scotland then you can download certificates (but only quite old ones) on a website called Scotland's People, and although it isn't free, it is cheap compared to the cost of English and Welsh certificates which do cost £7. I'm not sure what the cost of Northern Irish ones is at the moment but I think it might be slightly higher than England and Wales.
        KiteRunner

Every five years or so I look back on my life and I have a good... laugh"
        (Indigo Girls, "Watershed")

Comment