Persons place of Employment.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Persons place of Employment.

Hi to you all, please can any one help me with some information on how i can trace a persons place of employment in 1881? I'm fairly new to ancestry and don't know where to start to a search. Many thanks Teresa.

Welcome to FTF!

Not quite sure what you're after in the 1881 census. The occupation is usually given, but employees didn't usually specify the employer's name.
    You might find something by looking at the Historical Maps site (with late-C19th Ordnance Survey replicas). (Can only find the selling site: The Godfrey Edition - Old Ordnance Survey Maps - Index. I will look further)
    You might find something by using the Historical Directories site. Historical Directories
    Local Records Offices sometimes have online catalogues - or their catalogues can be searched using A2A http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/ or TNA's aggregate search facility: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/s...earch.aspx?j=t

If you have a particular region or industry, there may be something useful in the FTF Wiki?

Christine
    Last edited by Christine in Herts; 12-01-09, 19:16.
    Researching: BENNETT (Leics/Birmingham-ish) - incl. Leonard BENNETT in Detroit & Florida ; WARR/WOR, STRATFORD & GARDNER/GARNAR (Oxon); CHRISTMAS, RUSSELL, PAFOOT/PAFFORD (Hants); BIGWOOD, HAYLER/HAILOR (Sussex); LANCASTER (Beds, Berks, Wilts) - plus - COCKS (Spitalfields, Liverpool, Plymouth); RUSE/ROWSE, TREMEER, WADLIN(G)/WADLETON (Devonport, E Cornwall); GOULD (S Devon); CHAPMAN, HALL/HOLE, HORN (N Devon); BARRON, SCANTLEBURY (Mevagissey)...

Comment