Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BIVRI v IGI ??

Another stupid question please.

I have spent the last few nights trawling diligently through thousands (yes, I mean thousands :D) of IGI results for Heaps/Heap births but I have noticed in the past that people have dissappeared for 5 mins and come back with all (or lots) of the children born to a couple. I noticed on a thread today that someone seemed to have done this and they quoted BIVRI. On Family Search I can see the VRI - Vital Records Index. Is this the same thing please and is it better than IGI?

You wouldn't think I had been doing this for about 5 years would you :o:o
    Chrissie passed away in January 2020.

How disappointing.

I thought you were advertising a Thai Boxing Match.

Bivri v Igi indeed.

Humph!!
    Grampa Jim passed away September 2011

Comment

LOL :D Cheeky

Comment

Hi Chrissie,
        I have the BIVRI discs from the LDS. I believe these are records that weren't included in the IGI but some of them have been added recently.

Who were you looking for?
        Heather

Comment

Ancestry also recently added BIVRI to its databases:
          Search England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 - Ancestry.co.uk
          Search England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 - Ancestry.co.uk
          Sarah

Comment

It's kind of you Heather but I'm beginning to think that she must have been born under a different name. I have had two threads up about her and several people have tried to help but the family seem to be gypsies, I think that's the problem. I did manage to find another brother last night but her mothers name is so odd that it's slightly different on everything

So the BIVRI that people talk about are discs then? I imagine that the VRI on family search is just an incomplete list like the IGI on there?