New and Confused

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New and Confused

Hello, I am new to Genealogy and I thought doing a Y-DNA67+mtDNAPlus test would be a good start. Unfortunately both my parents are orphans (WW2) and know very little about their family. I am really unsure what the test will provide and what insight will be gained but I thought it would be good to do regardless. I have a general idea of the test from the website BUT really dont know what to expect. Thanks for any information.

Hello johnnicholas and welcome to FTF!

Have you actually handed over any money yet? If not, maybe think again!

If you get your parents marriage cert, that will give you the names of their fathers, and their ages. From that information, you can trace their births, and so on, backwards down the line.

DNA testing at BEST, will only throw you into a group of people who share a male ancestor with you. This could be five generations, or 50 generations ago, and not much use to you if you don't even know who your grandparents were.

Do you know how to search for your parents marriage cert? If not, we will be very happy to help you.

OC

Comment

Hello and Welcome.

What are you trying to find exactly???? MY understanding of DNA testing is that it can tell you if your parents are really your parents (provided they are alive). There are many other DNA tests that are advertised (at highly inflated prices) that will tell you where your genes originated. Basically it will tell you that your genes came from Africa.

That's because according to out genetice makeup we all (or nearly all) did.

How much do you actually have about your family? There may be more than you think.

Were your parents adopted out/ fostered/ brought up in care???
      Some of those places have records.

Not sure where you are, but have a look on our "Adoption" board. You might find some info there to help.

Don't give up.....I've had some results from help I got here that you wouldn't believe.