Finding people after 1901.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding people after 1901.

I'm trying to find a few more people from this will.

The trouble is the will was written in 1919 and nearly everyone mentioned is female. Only one is named as "Miss", so not sure if the others are married names or single names.

I've tried the census, but there's either none or hundreds, and I've no way of checking. They may not even be related.

Are there electoral rolls online or phone books from that time??

Ancestry have british phone books 1880-1984 on line but I don't know the coverage
    L

Comment

OK.....I'm new at this recent stuff...

I have a couple of addresses so that will help. Unfortunately they are not there in 1901.

Comment

Libby

Electoral Rolls aren't on line, and anyway, most females wouldn't have the vote back then, unless they were freeholders, in which case they could vote in Borough elections. Trade/Post Office directories might be more useful but you would need to know an area, of course.

I know it would be tedious, but what about trying to identify marriages - you say you don't know if they were married or not, but GENERALLY, married women in wills are referred to as "my niece Susan, the wife of John Smith". Always an exception I suppose, though.

OC

Comment

OC.....this will has one Mrs Osmond Brock (subject of another thread) and Miss Gertrude Devensh (I'll try to find her because she is a great niece). Mrs Elizabeth E Cooke of Bournemouth and Mrs Mary Howard of St Leonards. All the others are just...

Agnes Wright of California (I know her)
          Mary Gleed of Spalding
          Mary Edmonds of Fontmell Magna
          Madeleine Gandell of Earls Court
          Constance Ariel Ward....another great niece.

The others are all Italian.

Apart from the executors and I think I have them sorted.

Comment

Harrys mum,