Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Parish Records 'film' - what to look for?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parish Records 'film' - what to look for?

Advice please - I'm going to view my very first LDS 'film' of Parish Records for Hartley Westpall, Hants for a marriage in 1734. What should I be looking out for, eg other info that might be on the film?

It occurs to me that there may be ways of looking backwards once I comfirm the details, such as the bride and grooms parents' details, but I've never done this before and know I'm going to be slightly overcome by technophobia :o, so wanted to be prepared.

I'm going this afternoon, but the film will be there for a month, so if I don't catch your answers today, I guess I could go and view it again, couldn't I?

Bee.
    Bee~~~fuddled.

Searching for BANKS, MILLER, MOULTON from Lancs and Cheshire; COX from Staffordshire and Birmingham;
    COX, HALL, LAMBDEN, WYNN, from Hants and Berks; SYMES (my mystery g'father!) from anywhere near Bournemouth.

Bee

Because I am such a meanie, when I order a film, I extract every possible entry for the same surname, just in case it comes in useful later on and it nearly always does.

There is nothing more annoying than having to order the same film twice because you didn't think to extract all the first time!

OC

Comment

It depends which film you've ordered. A very small parish may have all baptisms, marriages and burials on the same film, but a larger one may only have marriages, and you'll need to order another film for baptisms.

In addition to marriages the film may have the register of banns - that probably won't have any different details from the marriage entry, apart from the dates when the banns were read, but it's always worth checking.

If the marriage was by licence, the marriage bond may have extra information, but they aren't usually on the LDS films together with the PRs.