Can anyone find Thomas?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can anyone find Thomas?

I've just got the army discharge record for Thomas Parkinson from the National Archives. He was discharged from the Royal Horse Guards on 8 April 1840 after nearly 12 years' service, due to weakness of the leg caused by an aneurism.

I can't find a death for him, nor can I find him on the censuses.

Thomas was born in Rothley, Leicestershire, on 23 February 1808 (birth registered at the Rothley Baptist Church). According to the army records, he was a maltster by trade (like his father).

His army record doesn't mention a wife (the "married" column is blank), but there is a submitted entry on the IGI:

Thomas Parkinson
    Male

Event(s):
    Birth: About 1807

Parents:
    Father: William Parkinson

Marriages:
    Spouse: Mary Brown
    Marriage: 15 NOV 1841 Rothley, Leicester, England

Although it's submitted, it sounds plausible, because his father was called William, and the year of birth is approximately right.

However, I can't find either him or Mary in 1851 or 1861. There's a possible Mary Brown living in Rothley in 1841 (a dressmaker born in 1813), but I can't find her with the surname Parkinson in 1851.

I've checked out Thomas's relatives on the censuses, and he isn't with any of them.

In 1841 his father William (1770-?) was living with Thomas's married sister Mary Screaton in Rothley. In 1851 William, a widower, was in an almshouse in Barrow-on-Soar.
    Sister Mary Screaton (1813-1879) was living in Rothley in 1841 and 1851,
    Another married sister, Ann Spencer (1806-1887), was in Quorn(don) in 1841 and 1851.
    Brother William (1810-?) was in Leicester in 1841 and living with Mary Screaton and family in 1851.
    Unmarried sister Sarah Parkinson (1816-1900) was living with Ann Spencer and family in 1841 and 1851.