Am I on the right track here?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I on the right track here?

I have a birth cert for a living person born 1926.

His mother's maiden name is Moore on the cert. Father is correct. Mother's first names are correct.

I have his mother's birth cert and her name is Atkins. At the time of her borth her mother was Mrs Moore (a widow). Two months after the birth, her mother (Mrs Moore) married Mr Atkins.

Now, I'm presuming Mr Atkins is the baby's father.

Why would "Living person Smith" have mmn Moore.

I thought maybe Mrs Moore would have to register daughter as Moore seeing as she wasn't married to the father and he maybe wasn't present, but she is registered under her father's name (Atkins).

I guess he was present, and given that they were soon to marry, registered to baby in what was to be their name.

Is there a registration under mothers surname too?
    Jess

Comment

Hi Libby

On some NSW certs I have seen, there was no actual column for surname, but that was earlier in the 1850s, but could have been the same format even in 1926. Did the birth cert ask where and when married ?

if the mother said the father was Atkins, then that would be assumed to be the babys name. If he was present at the registration, perhaps he could be named even if they were not married. Perhaps the registrar asked what is your name, not what was your maiden name, not knowing she was a widow, not an unmarried mum.

I have one where the fathers name was entered, but crossed out, when asked for her marriage, the mother said not married, and the registrar just put a line through the fathers name and wrote "given in error, they were not married".

Diane
      Diane
      Sydney Australia
      Avatar: Reuben Edward Page and Lilly Mary Anne Dawson

Comment

Diane...this one is in England in 1901.