McLuskeys

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• McLuskeys

I am at a loss to find the information that I want, any thoughts!

I have my Grt Grandad Daniel McLuskey b 1851, born Londonderry.
    His parents are my problem I cannot find anything anywhere.
    Michael & Helen nee Buchanan, and born Londonderry, is all the information that I have.no dates either.
    I would love to know if Daniel or his father Michael mother Helen. have any siblings.
    I have been right through emerald anc, to no avail. I am still a novice at this, so I could be missing something.
    Would be grateful for any help,
    Sassy;)

Sassy, one problem is that not all the existing Irish info is online, so you may have to go to the record office for County London/derry or pay a researcher to go and look it up for you (or wait). For instance, this site doesn't have any Derry stuff online yet:
    Birth Death Marriage Genealogy Records Ireland - Irish Family History Foundation

Have you looked on Griffith's Valuation for Michael?
    KiteRunner

Every five years or so I look back on my life and I have a good... laugh"
    (Indigo Girls, "Watershed")

Comment

Hi Sassy,
      I'm researching in NI too and it's really hard! I have had some success with using a site home page | familyulster.com | providing professional genealogy research which does BMD looks up for £2 a go. So if you have a year of birth/marriage/death he will look for you. He also does research at £14 per hour which is cheaper than going over there to do it yourself as there is very little online, as you have discovered!
      I also joined a forum Belfast Forum - belfast chat | belfast history | belfast restuarants | things to do in belfast - Belfast Forum and they have a geneology section where people will do look ups for you and are knowledgeable about what records are available and where. There are some street directories as well that you can search which are listed on this forum.