Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Great forum, any help please?

Hello all,

I am new to this and i am having trouble already! lol... i have joined the sites like Genes reunited and Ancestry (Free trial) but i am struggling, i have only got to my great grandfather, i know his name, year of birth and who he married, but when ever i do a search on the sites and pay to view the file it just states his name, what i am looking for is to try and find his Mum & Dad so i can then start the trail of my tree?

Does anyone have any ideas what i'm doing wrong? or any advice?

My great grandfather was called William Nicholas - Born c1900 in Cardiff i believe, he married Gertrude Dyer - Born 1899, but when ever i try and search them i get nothing but their name no parental info?

Thankyou guys for you're time, any help would be a massive help,

Paul

hi, i am having the same trouble and have also just posted below you. I don't know why but at this time mothers maiden names are not given like in later dates (i.e grandparents, parents etc). Hope someone can answer us both in due course!

Comment

Hi and Welcome - glad you got in OK. I'm afraid everyone is watching WDYTYA? on BBC1! lol

This will be the ref for their marriage:

Marriages Jun 1921
      Nicholas William E spouse surname: Dyer Cardiff 11a 631

From FreeBMD. The marriage cert would provide the father's names for each party.

Anyway.....birth reg:

Births Mar 1900
      Nicholas William Edward Cardiff 11a 366

From 1901 census parents seem to be Banjamin J Nicholas (38 Gen Labourer, speaks English and Welsh) and wife Winifred (35 speaks just English).

I don't know if you have access to Ancestry? If you do, the census ref is:

RG13; Piece: 4981; Folio: 140; Page: 26

Comment

I don't know if you have access to Ancestry?
        Sorry, I just read your post again!

Comment

Mothers' maiden names were only given in the BMD indexes from mid-1911 onwards.