Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Master Mariner-Brick wall

Hi all,

Please accept my apologies if I have posted this in the wrong section, but and there is always a but, I'm new to this;).

Facts;
    My ggg/grandfather William Parker was a Mariner in 1826 as recorded on his sons baptism record from Bristol records office. His son Henry George Parker is found from 1841 in Ipplepen, Devon and marries a local girl Jane Morey in 1849(I have Henry researched until his death in 1916). On the marriage cert it gives his fathers name as William Parker, occupation MASTER MARINER. I am not sure wether he was Merchant or Royal Navy as this is all the details I have for him, other than his spouse was Jane. So, between 1826-1849 William becomes a Master Mariner.

I have had searches made on William Parker, Master Mariner by Robert Base and Helen Ball many years ago, but due to poor results went off in another direction. I feel it's time to smash this brick wall I have hit.

Can anyone offer help to find my William Parker, through advice or searching at Kew. I think records BT115, BT122, BT124, BT125, BT126 would hopefully reveal some clues.

Thank you all for your time and help in advance.

Kind regards

Grahame Parker, Plymouth.

PS. If I can help with reseach within or around the Plymouth area, please feel free to contact me.

Grahame

Are you getting stuck on him being a Master Mariner?

As you only have that information on a marriage cert so far, I would treat it with great caution.

My grandmother stated on her marriage cert that her father was a Master Jeweller - he most certainly was NOT, he was a Pawnbroker till his dying day!

OC

Comment

Hey OC,