Marriage Cert No occuption for woman

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marriage Cert No occuption for woman

I have a marriage cert from 1947, but the occupation for the woman is blank, although she was in a occupation .
    What would you say could be the reason she decided to say nothing?? or is that quite normal??? thanks
    I do have a very good reason for asking.

Its very normal. I think its only relatively recently that women gave their occupation. It was considered "genteel" not to need to work.

I'm also sure that many of the married women on censuses worked as well as running the home and caring for children, even if they aren't recorded as doing so.
    ~ with love from Little Nell~
    Chowns, Dunt, Emms, Mealing, Purvey & Smoothy

Comment

thats s shame as I know what she did for a living and you would not put that on a cert LOL, so was hoping that was the reason.After all she didnt mind putting the same address as him.

Comment

Maybe the person filling in the register didn't bother to ask. Now most women would be glad to have their occupation recorded, but back then it was probably considered posh to appear not to need to work.

Or she may have given up her job as she was getting married. This was very common then.

Comment

Oh, well if she had something dubious it wouldnt be recorded. I've yet to see a cert that has burglar, prostitute, abortionist or professional gambler on it!

Comment

LOL Nell , just seemed odd as she was a very independant lady.

Comment

The fact that she gave the same address as her husband-to-be doesn't necessarily mean they were living together - it was very commonly done (I think because it was cheaper to have the banns read in the same parish).

Comment

Having the same address is very very common. I know in my grandparents' case, they met because grandfather was a lodger in grandmother's stepfather's house.