Vista user account control- allow access or not

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vista user account control- allow access or not

Every time I start my FTM I get the user account control screen come up asking me if I want to allow this program or not. It's driving me mad.

Is there any way I can turn this function off?

not sure if this helps
    Vista User Account Control (UAC) disable Run all administrators in Admin Approval Mode
    Elaine

Comment

Oooh it looks a bit complicated. I might leave well alone.

Comment

bear in mind that if you turn UAC off, any application will be able to run without your approval. this includes anything nasty that could be embedded in a webpage or email.

Yes UAC is a pain in the backside at times, but it is ultimately there for your benefit.
        What is worse? having to agree to an application when you want to use it, or losing all your data if something goes awry?

Your choice, but as an IT professional my recommendation would be to learn to live with it and appreciate its benefits..
        https://squeakerslair.wordpress.com

Comment

Thank you Tim for your advise

I will leave well alone.

Comment

Not of much help but I seem to remember that I was able to have a list of approved programs so I didn't get the message each time. I still have UAC enabled but don't have that trouble.
            I have looked at my account and it is running with me as the administrator. It is not password protected except when we go away and then I set up the guest account for the family at home, which means they cannot download anything onto my computer without the password :D
            Jennie
            Research: A family tree can wither if nobody tends it's roots .

Comment

Originally posted by Jennie H View Post
              Not of much help but I seem to remember that I was able to have a list of approved programs so I didn't get the message each time. I still have UAC enabled but don't have that trouble.