Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice re missing marriage in Dulverton, Somerset

Could I just run this by you.

Samuel BRYANT married to Hannah. He was born about 1823 in Dulverton. His bride was born about 1828 in Molland, Devon. Dulverton was in Devon in those days but now in Somerset.

Dulverton records are on line and I have all that they can give me on this line of Bryants. However marriages stop at 1837.

Free BMD Dulverton go up to 1837 and resume from 1855-1936.

Ancestry BMD reveals nothing. IGI there is a submitted entry for Samuel Bryant and Hannah Bryant 1850 Marriage Dulverton.

Their first child was born in Dulverton about 1850. Subsequent chl born Bampton, Molland (Devon) and last in Dulverton 1863.

Should I e mail the Somerset Record Office to try and track the marriages in missing period?

Thanks for any thoughts (remember I am still a novice so be gentle with me )
    Liz

When you say that Ancestry BMD reveals nothing, have you checked the complete index or just the partial index?
    Elaine

Comment

.. and do you have the birth certificate of any of the children, to give you the mother's maiden name?
      Elaine

Comment

There's a Samuel Bryant Q3 1850 Huddersfield
        and 1849 Q3 Bristol

Also a Samuel Briant 1850 Q4......I think it's Sth Molton. Not a good image.

Checked 1848,49 and 50.

Comment

The South Molton is a good bet as that is the registration district for Molland, where Hannah was born.
          Elaine

Comment

And I thought it was Yorkshire lol.

Comment

Well done Libby!

Marriages Dec 1850 (freeBMD)
              BRIANT Samuel
              Melluish Hannah
              S Molton 10 343

1851 census shows household members of
              Hannah Bryant age 23
              Samuel Bryant age 23
              Elizabeth Muelish age 63
              John Muelish age 27
              James Stone age 6

HO107; Piece: 1891; Folio: 43; Page: 10