Isle of Wight research

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Isle of Wight research

To any of our Isle of Wight members - have any of you used the Family History Centre in Newport - if so are they friendly and helpful!

I am doing a tree for a very dear friend of mine who lives on the Island - and we have traced one side of the family back to Niton and probably Whitwell before that. She has caught the bug is happy to go rummaging around graveyards to see what she can find, but also wants to see if she can find anything in the parish records so that we can go back further.

She is a complete beginner - so was wondering if I sent her along to the FH Centre whether they would give her a bit of initial help when looking at fiche etc., just to get her started.
    Elaine

Hi Elaine,

Sorry but I've not used the centre - none of mine are from the island.

When I first started, I did try to find the place, for future reference, and wandered round St Thomas Square for some time but never located it!
    Gillian
    User page: http://www.familytreeforum.com/wiki/...ustGillian-117

Comment

Thanks Gillian.

Just seen on the Isle of Wight Record Office site that they hold a card index of IOW BMDs. Think this might be easier for her to start with - break her in gently!

Might have to get her to investigate the Family History Centre at a later stage, when I send her off looking for the non-IOW lines!
      Elaine

Comment

Originally posted by Just Gillian View Post

When I first started, I did try to find the place, for future reference, and wandered round St Thomas Square for some time but never located it!
        I wonder if that was because the address on the website is Chestnut Close, Shide Road.
        Elaine

Comment

I have used the IOW Record Office and found them very helpful, and, if you go down the road towards the River and turn left there is a useful Cafe for lunchtime.