which subscribtion should I buy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which subscribtion should I buy

Hello, i am new to doing my family tree.

In the past I have purchased credits for find my past and found this quite easy to use, 2 months ago I paid for an Ancestry subscription which I felt that I had to cancel as alot of the time I couldn't view any images and I had alot of trouble with mistranscriptions that I just could not see my way around. Has anyone used the geneolgist website?

which is the best to use, should I re-new my ancestry subscription and persevere and try to make better use of it

or should I try another website

thank you
    Last edited by No shoes; 20-08-08, 15:49.

No shoes

Hallo and welcome

I think it depends on what you want. I found that Genealogist ate my credits and didn't find much on it.

Ancestry has the most information. If there are problems viewing images you need to contact them. I haven't had this problem, except occasionally and I've just tried again.

Mistranscriptions abound in all records, whatever site they are on. Once you've done more you will become better at thinking of different variants on what you are looking for.

Personally, I wouldn't be without Ancestry. I refer to the censuses, bmd indexes and Pallot's, and WW1 records several times a week.
    ~ with love from Little Nell~
    Chowns, Dunt, Emms, Mealing, Purvey & Smoothy

Comment

If you are new to genealogy, and presuming that you are interested in English and Welsh records, then I personally think the most useful site would be one that hosts the full set of census, which at the current time is Ancestry.

Findmypast does not yet have the 1851 census and only has two counties for 1901, but it does have a very useful feature in that the census can be searched using an address, and I think their transcriptions are generally better than Ancestry.