Eyeballs out on stalks! Need help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eyeballs out on stalks! Need help!

Hi, newbie here. I'm building my tree (fabulous experience!) and have located a great great grandfather as Joseph Chapman b.1843 in Waddington, Lincs. I also found him listed as grandson to William Chapman b.1793 in Waddington, Lincs in the 1851 census. I just can't find Josephs parents! Any help appreciated! Thanks

Welcome to FTF

This looks like Joseph's baptism in the IGI (from Family Search)

JOSEPH CHAPMAN
    Event(s):
    Birth:
    Christening: 16 JAN 1843 Waddington, Lincoln
    Parents:
    Mother: MARY CHAPMAN
    Extracted birth or christening record for the locality listed in the record.

Looks as if he was the illagitimate son of Mary Chapman (who is presumably the dau of William )

Comment

This looks like the baptism of Joseph's mother:

MARY CHAPMAN
      Event(s):
      Birth:
      Christening: 01 JAN 1826 Waddington, Lincoln
      Parents:
      Father: WILLIAM CHAPMAN
      Mother: REBECCA
      Extracted birth or christening record for the locality listed in the record.

Comment

Thanks for that MMM. One more thing if you don't mind. I seem to hit the wall after the 1841 census. Any tips on what i should do to continue? Thanks

Comment

Joseph's birth reg:

Births Mar 1843
          Chapman Joseph Lincoln 14 479

Comment

It looks as if the PR's for Waddington are on the IGI right from the 1500's, though anything you get from this source should be followed up with looking at the actual registers. For instance, it's possible the original entry for Joseph's baptism may give the name of his father.

Comment

It's possible that Mary Chapman married Benjamin Groves who was probably a widower (as he has a son aged 11 in 1851!):

Marriages Jun 1847
              CHAPMAN Mary Lincoln 14 865 <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
              Groves Benjamin Lincoln 14 865 <<<<<<<<<<<<
              Moore Elizabeth Lincoln 14 865