places of birth and baptisms

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• places of birth and baptisms

Hello, for anyone who doesn't know I am a newbie to this! Therefore I might seem a bit dim at times! Can anyone point me in the right direction on where to find out where someone was actually born (which hospital/at home etc) and how to find out whether they were baptised and where?
    Thanks
    Tessie

Tessie - to answer that we need to know a timeframe and location. If it was the early 1800s you'd look in one place, but if it was the 1940s you'd look somewhere else. Information also varies according to what country we're talking about.
    So, provided the person isn't still alive, tell us what you know.
    Uncle John - Passed away March 2020

Comment

Thanks Uncle John, I would like to find if the family I have traced so far were baptised and where. Half the family were born after 1940's the other before. I haven't managed to go any further back than 1 grandad on one side as I am pretty much stuck until I get birth certs etc. As they cost I can only do a couple a month. I am waiting at the mo for grandads birth cert (if i get it) so I can go further back on that side!
      Is there a website where I can find out about baptisms?
      Thanks

Comment

tessie

FamilySearch.org - Family History and Genealogy Records is the website most of us use for baptisms. However, it has hardly any coverage for the 20th century.

Not every one was baptised (I wasn't). When you get the birth cert, it will tell you where he was born and you can then work out what churches were in the area where they lived. You will have to contact each church.

It may be a long old haul though, unless you have some idea where, and what religious denomination they were.

Good luck!

OC

Comment