Newbie needing help!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needing help!!

Hi! I am new to researching family trees. I am also new to forums so please bear with me! I am tracing my fiances family. We have some information and I have applied for his grandads birth cert. I have some questions that someone I hope can help me with or point me in the right direction!
    My fiances grandad got re-married but I can't find the marriage! My fiance was about 11, which would mean they got married around 1990. However, I cannot find anything on their marriage. I don't understand why I can't find it? I have looked from 1985 to 1995 to be sure of the date. We know they got married in Peterborough. Can anyone help?
    My second question is my father in law had three siblings. Two of whom died while he was young. We have quite a bit of info on one and know where she is buried. His brother died at about 10 days old and it was never talked about. His name is on the same headstone as his sister but we do not know whether he was buried or cremated. He was however born before his sister, would that mean his ashes were probably scattered on her grave at some point?
    My last question is that his other sister, whom he has had no contact with since the death of their mother seems to have no birth record. Again I have looked over a ten year period to no avail. While the children were young their father was in the Army and spent time in Germany and Aden. If she was born in either of these countries would that mean she isn't on any records for England?
    Sorry that I have lots of questions and have gone on, but I don't know what else to try!
    Thanks in advance for your help

Hi Tessie and welcome to FTF. It's OK to give names and dates for people who are now dead, but not for living people, so you're OK on that!

There are records of overseas and Forces births etc. on sites such as familyrelatives.com.