Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello, I am new member

Hello,

I have just joined this forum and thought I would introduce myself.

I have been researching my family history since 2004 and have found it both interesting and frustrating!

My main names are MORTON - Sheffield, HOSKINS - Staffordshire/Derbyshire

DENT - Measham, HART - London and South Shields/Darlington, BATTY - Sheffield,

DONNELLY - Ireland/Dunston, Tunnicliffe - Stratford Essex/Ashbourne Derbyshire

I already have a lot of info on these families but if anyone else is researching these names I would be more than happy to share info.

I recently found out that my 4 X GGrandfather was a ship owner. His name was Ralph Hart born in Darlington in C 1792. He appears to have had a Brig called Eleanor built in Sunderland in 1824 and a Barque called Vansittart built in Prize, year unknown.

Two questions come to mind, How can I find out more about these ships and what they carried, Ralph seems to have divided his time between London and South Shields, he has two children born in London and two in South Shields.
    I have tried Google with various different search terms with little success.

The second question is Where is Prize?

Thankyou for reading this thread.

Hartist

Welcome Hartist.........

My OH has Harts in his tree. I'll have a look and get back.

Have you tried Google Books for the ships? I find them often better than ordinary Google for older info.

Comment

Just had a quick look for Alice Hart...............born England 7th Feb 1870.....there's a job for me today.

Comment

Hi Harry's mum,

Thanks I will try that.

Hartist

Comment

Welcome to the boards Hartist

]

Comment

Welcome, Hartist.

There are a lot of ships called Eleanor so you will need to be careful to check that any info you find relates to the right one.
            KiteRunner

Every five years or so I look back on my life and I have a good... laugh"
            (Indigo Girls, "Watershed")

Comment