Question about a 1936 Marriage Cert just received

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about a 1936 Marriage Cert just received

Hi. Thanks to Merry, I was able to send off for my Uncle Pat's marriage cert.

Don't often get them direct from GRO but as London, did so for this one.

The cert is all in the same spidery handwriting, including the 2 signatures of the couple. On the old certs I have, the couple normally sign themselves. So has been good to see their handwriting or just that telltale X.

My uncle was definitely literate.

Is this normal for the later certs? Was in a register office.

Thanks.
    Liz

Hi Liz,

The gro certs are transcriptions of the original certificates. You usually only get original copies from local ROs if they hold the ledgers..I know what I mean..

Hope you understand that lol I'm not good at explaining things!

]

Comment

Thanks for that...the ones I normally get from Cardiff are typed. The writing on this one is old fashioned, faint and spidery so hard to think someone has written it out today.

I normally go to the local ones but not found Enfield R.O. that helpful in the past, being a busy office.
      Liz

Comment

Its much nicer getting a cert from a local office.

A great many of mine were from Wigan RO. The staff and registrars are brilliant but sadly now the registers have been moved and its just gro copies I get from Preston.
        I loved the scanned ones with original siggys! Liz try asking Cardiff if they can scan them for you, Wigan never refused if it was possible..

]

Comment

Liz

Northern Light has hit the nail on the head re the GRO transcription, there is also a guide in the wiki with examples of scanned, modern handwritten local certs and GRO issued versions in the wiki.

It won't really tell you anything you haven't worked out so far but you never know;

Scanned and Handwritten Certificates Guide - Family Tree Forum
          http://www.flickr.com/photos/50125734@N06/