brass bracelet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• brass bracelet

Just wondering if anyone has any idea about an identity bracelet that was owned by my gt. grandmother?

It is a simple brass disc engraved with her name and address.

Could it be a medical bracelet??

Thanks

Tracy

I'm no expert, but I don't think medical bracelets were invented till very recently.

Comment

Was it her latest address or address where she was born - I'm thinking a christening bracelet, otherwise would imagine its just a personalised bracelet.......... possibly if she was old and had lost her mind a bit, could be incase she got lost (dont mean to offend if that was not the case)

Comment

I know that people with some illnesses like Epilepsy or diabetes sometimes where a necklace which shows there illness. Is there anything else on the bracelet that could indicate anything like that?

Comment

She wasn't in the women's armed forces, was she?

Comment

I think the ones worn for 'medical' purposes are usually copper aren't they ?

~ FOR PHOTO RESTORATIONS PLEASE SCAN AT A RESOLUTION OF 300-600 WITH THE SCALE AT 100% MINIMUM ~ http://restoreandcolour.brainwaving.co.uk

Comment

Rachel my 'medical' bracelet is stainless steel, supplied by MedicAlert - had it since 1965.
              Stella passed away December 2014

Comment

Originally posted by Stella View Post
                Rachel my 'medical' bracelet is stainless steel, supplied by MedicAlert - had it since 1965.

Ooooo ... what does it do ?

stop you going rusty ?

~ FOR PHOTO RESTORATIONS PLEASE SCAN AT A RESOLUTION OF 300-600 WITH THE SCALE AT 100% MINIMUM ~ http://restoreandcolour.brainwaving.co.uk

Comment

:D Rachel! MedicAlert make them in stainless steel so that they are just about indestructable, also so that they do not look like an article of jewellery. Mine is to do with a serious allergy from which I very nearly died years ago.
                  Stella passed away December 2014

Comment