Is this the one?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this the one?

I received a Marr/cert this morning and trying to find him on the census, but having trouble because I am not very good with places up north.
    I am looking for a Thomas Heyes born 1891 as he was 21 when he married in 1912, his occupation is miner, his father 's name is John Heyes and he is a miner, he married in St Helens Lancaster he lived at 29 Epsom St, Parr, is what I think it reads.
    I have found this one what do you think the age is 4 years out so not sure
    1891 RG12, Piece 3023, Folio 103, Page 18
    going back to have another look
    GWEN

I'd be inclined to try 1901 first. He may not have been born at the time of the 1891 census - and 4 is a massive age difference over 0-1!

Christine
    Researching: BENNETT (Leics/Birmingham-ish) - incl. Leonard BENNETT in Detroit & Florida ; WARR/WOR, STRATFORD & GARDNER/GARNAR (Oxon); CHRISTMAS, RUSSELL, PAFOOT/PAFFORD (Hants); BIGWOOD, HAYLER/HAILOR (Sussex); LANCASTER (Beds, Berks, Wilts) - plus - COCKS (Spitalfields, Liverpool, Plymouth); RUSE/ROWSE, TREMEER, WADLIN(G)/WADLETON (Devonport, E Cornwall); GOULD (S Devon); CHAPMAN, HALL/HOLE, HORN (N Devon); BARRON, SCANTLEBURY (Mevagissey)...

Comment

Who are the witnesses on the certificate - do the names help at all?
      Elaine

Comment

I agree with Christine to try first to find him on 1901
        but the age of 21 (from the marriage cert) could have meant 'over 21' so able to marry without parental consent.
        Bridget

Comment

Cannot find him on 1901 and the witness names do not help. Peter Farr and the other one is sister of the bride as I have found her family with no problems always a way as I do not want to follow that line.
          GWEN

Comment

The 1891 census I found is the civil parish is Parr
            GWEN

Comment

This is the same family in 1901, with Thomas' year of birth given as 1886.
              RG13; Piece: 3522; Folio: 52; Page: 40.