Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

new with a few questions ( name changes etc)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new with a few questions ( name changes etc)

Hello
    i'm new here so forgive me if I seem a bit confused ,lol

we have been trying to find my great grandmother but there is no trace of her at all before she married in 1900. So I wondered if perhaps she had changed her name ?
    we know her as laura dale barton & I thought perhaps she had a foreign name perhaps "de" something & changed it to fit in more ?
    Was that something people did then ? & why

I am also looking for information on an artist called edward pritchett.The biography's I can find dont mention his d,o,b or anything about him apart from he was quite famous at the time & had his own art school

My great great grandad has the same name & was listed on the census as a landscape artist. I am an artist myself so thats something I would like to look into

thanks for any help

angela

Angela

First of all, hallo and welcome. We're quite friendly on here, so don't worry.

Have you got Laura's marriage cert, and if so, who does she name as her father and what was his occupation? How old was she at the time of the marriage?
    ~ with love from Little Nell~
    Chowns, Dunt, Emms, Mealing, Purvey & Smoothy

Comment

Edward Pritchett is mentioned as being active 1828-1864, so I'll see if I can find him (and hopefully a birth date and place) on the census.

Comment

Found this:

Edward Pritchett
        Biography
        Details of Edward Pritchett’s life have proved difficult to secure. However he left behind a considerable body of work. He was clearly an ardent admirer of the ancient and beautiful Italian city of Venice and it is this great city, the source of inspiration to so many of his European contemporaries who settled and worked there, that we find the vast portion of his oeuvre.