Suffolk graveyards

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suffolk graveyards

I am new to this sight so I don't really know where to ask for help. I would like to visit monk soham in 2 mnths time, but before this I wanted to ask if there is anyone who lives locally to monk soham, suffolk if they would look at the local cemetry (st peters anglican church) and possibly Earl Soham which is quite near for relatives of mine. That way I can look for them when I visit. If anyone can help I would be really grateful, I live down in East Sussex. Thanks again.

Hallo and welcome to the site.

I can't help - but I do know that you can traipse round cemeteries and not find anything. I don't know how large St. Peter's churchyard is, but it might be a better bet to go to the county records office and check the burial registers there. Some record offices also have plans showing where the graves are - not everyone would have had a gravestone and not every gravestone will have survived or be legible.
    ~ with love from Little Nell~
    Chowns, Dunt, Emms, Mealing, Purvey & Smoothy

Comment

Thanks for answering, I am going to contact the records office but I know it might take up to 8 weeks to get the results back. I just would like to have had some idea so that when I go to suffolk hopefully in the next 5 weeks I know who might be there. Thanks again Lindsey.

Comment

From the pictures here Suffolk Churches there don't seem to be many gravestones left in the churchyard at Monk Soham.

Comment

Welcome to the site.

As you will see, I don't live in Suffolk, but wondered whether you had found our Wiki yet.

The Suffolk page is here -
          Joan died in July 2020.

Comment

hello and welcome we have a sue from suffolk,maybe she will be able to help you brenda xxx

Comment

Originally posted by brenmac View Post
              hello and welcome we have a sue from suffolk,maybe she will be able to help you brenda xxx

Fraid not Bren.