Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My first criminal - It's just not cricket !

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first criminal - It's just not cricket !

HELP PLEASE!

OK, his crime is probably not as exotic as some of the relies on here but I'm excited as I've been researching this chap (John Kendrew) for probably around three years without much luck.

I knew he was in Armley Gaol in 1881 (ref: census) but I didn't know why, until now that is (see article below).

The Armley Gaol records for around 1881 have been destroyed and the WYAS have been unable to help unless I can provide more accurate dates of sentencing.

I have sent an email to Northallerton records to see if they can help. Awaiting reply!

Would anyone have access to any newspaper archives (or other archives) for between 5 July 1878 (the date of this article) and 1881 (when the census was taken) around the Ripon area? I'm trying to find more information on when he may have actually been sentenced and for how long, etc.

Would anyone have any other suggestions as to where I can look for further information? All suggestions welcome although I do have problems accessing record offices that reside in the UK.

................................RIPON

At the City Court yesterday, before the Mayor (Ald
    Collinson) and Mr. W.F. Kenny, John Kendrew, late of
    Ripon, insurance agent, was charged with feloniously
    stealing certain sums of money to the amount of
    £30 19s. 6d., the property of Thomas Wells, Wm. Moore,
    Walter Scott, Charles James Wolstenholme, and others,
    members of a club commonly called the Ripon Cricket
    Club, for which he was a collector. Prisoner has
    lately been residing at Rothwell, near Leeds, and was
    apprehended on Wednesday by Supt. Metcalfe, of the
    Ripon City Police. Mr Edmundson, of Ripon, solicitor,
    appeared for the prosecution, and Mr. Bateson, of the