Ireland

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ireland

Hi All, I have hit a dead end in my investigations. I have traced back to 1841 census and found my relatives to have been born in ireland. I am stumped now as to how to proceed as I have no knowledge of which county. All I have is names and dob's. Any ideas???

Thanks in advance

Welcome to the site stender

Well, other than adopting a different set of ancestors....:D

Sorry!

I think unless you are very lucky it can be pretty much impossible to trace Irish immigrants back to Ireland unless they have at least managed to give a county on one of the censuses, or have unusual names. Have you been able to find them on all the census returns they should be on?

Comment

Stender, it might be easier for us to advise you if you give us the details that you have so far. Though I must admit I haven't got very far with my Irish ancestors yet!
      KiteRunner

Every five years or so I look back on my life and I have a good... laugh"
      (Indigo Girls, "Watershed")

Comment

Hi, Thanks for the welcome.
        I have gone back as far as I can on the census' im aware of and all are situated in Limehouse (east london) back to 1841 where I have hit the wall as that census says born ireland. I will post the details later but the surname is dillon and it's laurence or lawrence dillon.

Regards

Comment

There are some Irish records on FamilySearch, but I can't see a Laurence or Lawrence Dillon on there of the right age - if he is the one who is 45 (i.e. 45 to 49) on the 1841 census. There is quite a lot of Irish stuff online now at Birth Death Marriage Genealogy Records Ireland - Irish Family History Foundation
          and there are a couple of Laurence Dillon baptisms listed on there around the right time (both County Dublin, one is 1793, one 1795) - if that one I was looking at in 1841 is the right one!