Genealogy Virgin

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Genealogy Virgin

Hi as the title suggests I am new to this game and so far I'm totally confused. I joined Ancestry.com and inserted information I knew was correct - d.o.b. & d.o.d of both parents and this program did not find them.

Now, it might be me that is too stupid to understand how to follow the instructions therefore I'm seeking advice from more experienced "searchers" as to the best and easiest sites to join. As a clansman from the lowlands of Scotland I'm reluctant to spend my pennies and get nothing for them.

Blessings to you all.

Welcome to the site, dg8....

It may be that the information you are asking Ancestry to come up with is to recent, particularly if the records are Scottish ones.

We are not allowed to post up information on living relations on this site, but maybe you could tell us something about your grandparents, if they are dec'd, so that someone can point you in the right direction. If you need help with those still living, then feel free to ask general questions, like "where would I get a 1940 Scottish birth cert?" and you will probably find a load of people coming to your rescue!!

Good Luck

Comment

thanks for the help

The parents I was referring to were my Paternal Grandparents [Scottish] and they lived and died in Newhaven which was part of Leith - now both are part of Edinburgh - long before I can remember - I'm 60 this year.

I know their d.o.b. [date of birth] and d.o.d. [date of death] are correct but I could not find the information using the site.

I was only using my Paternal Grandparents as a training aid as I knew their details and was trying to see how to work the program - unsuccessfully.

Bless you for your response.

Comment

Ancestry has Scottish census records up to 1901, but no BMD (birth, marriage and death) records as far as I know.