Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I burn my completed FTM on to a CD rom?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I burn my completed FTM on to a CD rom?

Thought I had lost my FTM for my friend's extensive tree...in tidying up my desktop, found the right icon and all there (not like me...)

Now inputting my family tree.

To send my tree to relatives, can I download it on to a blank CD rom?
    Do they have to have the FTM software installed to read it?

If I can do this, how do I differentiate between my pal's tree and mine as he will want his downloaded for his family too?

I am just a beginner on this.

When I am really, really sure it is right, I will then try and master exporting GEDCOm etc.

One step at a time. Will have to sign off now, back on this evening...got some churches to photograph while weather good...Liz
    Liz

If you want to share your tree with others there are various ways of doing it.
    • If they have FTM on their computer then you can just send a copy of your master file which they an open in FTM. The filename will have FTW as the extension.
    • If they dont have FTM then you will need to send it in GEDCOM format, and they will have to install a family history program in order to be able to open it. There are a couple of free ones available, PAF and Family Historian being the most popular.
    • Alternatively you could make a home page from FTM - very easy to do - FTM does all the hard work - you just press the right buttons. This can be password protected if you wish, and the password just given to those family members of friends that choose. You can only upload one tree onto a FTM home page.
    • Tribal Pages is another alternative - upload your tree and others can view it online. I am not a Tribal Pages user but I think you can have as many trees as you want - there is a free facility and a paying facility - not sure what the difference is!