Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Birth/Christening " SHARP" Circa 1838Lincolnshire.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Birth/Christening " SHARP" Circa 1838Lincolnshire.

I am a new subscriber and I am seeking help with my " SHARP" Family in Blankney Lincolnshire. Circa 1838. As I live in Australia I cannot easily access records. I have checked the IGI, Ancestry
    .I do hope all this makes sense.

I have been researching for 12 years and thought I had found all my " SHARP "family members, until I came across a Death Certificate here in Australia with the deceased person details listing my G.Grandparents as his parents..As there is an unusual traditional family name I was dumbfounded as I had never heard of this child being born..I have also searched Ancestry UK Census and found this child with the same name as my Great grandfather, but listed for the mothers name is " Sarah".. my Great Grandmothers name was Susannah... I am wondering if the enumerator could have got her Christian name wrong.

My Great Grandparents names are Edward and Susannah Sharp ( nee Plowright).. the had 3 children ( that I know of). 1. Jonathan Plowright Sharp. Edward Albert Sharp ( my Grandfather) and Mary Ann Sharp... then I came across this Death Certificate of a Henry Sharp born circa 1838 listing Edward Sharp as his father and Susannah Plowright as his mother...

In the 1841 UK Census both Jonathan and Edward were away at Boarding school on Aubourne, I do not know where Mary Ann their sister was on the night of the 1841 Census... Reading further on the 1841 Census- there is an entry for Edward SHARP ( head) wife Sarah ( not Susannah) and Henry aged 3 years. living at The Fens Blankney Lincs. the same Village where my Great grandparents had a huge farm/property..