Tuffnell - how cooperation can knock down brick walls

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tuffnell - how cooperation can knock down brick walls

I have been researching OH's Tuffnall branch for about 2 years now, but this year has been brilliant!

OH's ancestor Benjamin Tuffnall married Sarah Field in 1808 in St ALbans.

I now have contact with 5 other people all researching Tuffnells/Tuffnalls from Hertfordshire, and it is a brilliant experience.

OH's Benjamin went north, first to Congleton Cheshire, then to Checkley Staffs. Another Tuffnell branch is found in Macclesfield.

A Tuffnell cousin from Macclesfield is found on a census with a Tuffnell from Staffs. When our Benjamin died, the informant is Ann Tuffnell from Macclesfield.

As you see, I live in Hertfordshire. With the help of the other members of our group, we have made great strides. OH and I have been 3 Fridays running to the Record Office in Hertford. The Macclesfield Tuffnells all originate from a Tuffnell family born in Shenley Herts. I have found the baptisms and the marriage of the parents - another Benjamin and Sarah Tuffnell/Tuffnill.

The Macclesfield Tuffnells didn't previously know how they were linked, so this has been great.

I found all the christenings for OH's Benjamin's family in Hatfield. He was the eldest. Also his parents' marriage in Hatfield, and their burials. Obligingly, Benjamin's father was christened as an adult and gave his parents' names. We suspect that he might have been a brother to the Shenley father.

I have also been able to trace one of Benjamin's brothers, and have found his marriage and all his children.