Joseph Mayer Heath

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Joseph Mayer Heath

Hi everyone. I am a relative newbie to researching my family tree having only started a couple of years ago, but I've had success on here before so I thought I'd be cheeky and ask for more help!. As I no longer live in Staffordshire, “popping down” to view records is not an option and I can only research on the web.

In the course of doing some research (Google), I came across a response in another Forum regarding a question about members of the Heath family that emigrated to New Zealand in the early 20th Century. In particular the writer referenced a Joseph Mayer Heath (born 1861). Now my own branch of the Heath tree is NOT the large Horton or Shaffalong branch, although I’ve often thought that it was likely that there would be a connection (indeed it does actually come into my tree but not as a direct bloodline, but actually through the husband of my Great Aunt) so I was interested to see the name “Mayer” as a middle name as this is very much in my direct line. It dates back to when my 4xGreat Grandfather John Heath married Lucy Mayer in 1813 and “Mayer” has been used as a middle name for several members of the family since – up to my Grandfather who was born in 1903. So I’m trying to find the link between Joseph Mayer Heath (born 1861) to John Heath (Born 1772) who married Lucy Mayer (born 1792) in 1813, because according to the post, Joseph Mayer Heath is part of the Horton/Shaffalong Heath family and was the brother of the Moorlands Poet, George Heath.

I know John and Lucy had 4 Children - Sarah (1814), James Mayer(1815), John(1817) and Thomas(1820)

James(1815) married Sarah Dale and had a son John Bowyer Heath in 1842.

John(1817) married Louisa Eardley and had 3 Children (Thomas, Sarah Elizabeth and Lucy Mayer)

Thomas(1820) married Caroline Barlow and had 7 Children (Sarah, Mary, James Mayer, Caroline, Ann, Christabele and Lucy Mayer