Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does anyone have tips on research in Africa?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does anyone have tips on research in Africa?

Hi,
    My great grandfather did a runner to South Africa in the early 1920's and got married but after this I really struggled to find any record of him. Then yesterday I discovered a record of an attempt to extradite him from Mozambique! I can't find any more details and have found nothing online to allow me to search records in Mozambique but I'm hooked! Does anyone have any advice on how I can find out more? I'm not very experienced with this so any tips or recommendations would be great.

Thanks!
    Ben

Have you tried the British Newspapers Archive?

From a quick look on findmypast, I can see that some news from Mozambique is picked up by the British newspapers. If you can be reasonably sure of his age, i.e born before 1918 it will be okay to post his surname here and we can look for you.
    Caroline
    Caroline's Family History Pages
    Meddle not in the affairs of Dragons, for you are crunchy and good with ketchup.

Comment

Thanks for your fast response! I've not checked the British Newspapers Archive, very good idea I'll take a look.

His name was Ewart Morley Jepson, born in Lancashire in 1901. He left the UK in 1922 and got married in South Africa in 1924. After that the only record I found is from the extradition record in 1931. All a bit strange!

Comment

I've found some SA records on FamilySearch.org. Including actual death certificates, so worth checking there
        Anne

Comment

We have some links for South Africa in our reference library: https://www.familytreeforum.com/cont...1-South-Africa

I've had some success in the past searching the National Archives of South Africa (NARS)

UPDATE:

Eureka!!

Depending on where they are held, you can get documents copied through http://www.eggsa.org/

Caroline