Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DEATH INDEX ADVICE (tracing burial details)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DEATH INDEX ADVICE (tracing burial details)

Apologies for the simplicity of this request... but I'm new to the whole "tracing my ancestors game"...

I have recently discovered that my Great Great Grandfather is listed as having dies in Worthing in 1942. That's my home town so would love to track down his burial place if I can.

The Death Index has the district listed as Worthing, Volume 2b, Page 538... firstly, I'm hoping that this is Worthing in Sussex and not the one in Suffolk... secondly, how do I go about finding a record of burial with this information ? What does the "volume" and "page" reference refer to ?

As always, the greater knowledge of the readers of this Forum is greatly appreciated !

regards,

Nick

The numbers in your index reference are from the GRO (General Record Office). Each registration area has its own volume number and the second number is which page within the volume that the entry appears.
    Just to confuse matters, local registration offices have their own system of reference numbers which are different to those of GRO.

You are lucky in that you can get a copy of the death cert electronically from GRO for only £6GBP at the moment as they are having another trial. Certs normally cost £9.25 from them by post and £10 plus postage from local registration offices. You need to register on GRO site first then make your order.

You do not say the deceased's name so I went to ancestry site and entered the date year, volume and page number hoping to see what county would come up but there are no results.
    Are you certain you have the numbers correct?