birth record question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• birth record question

I'm new to genealogy research. I have a father's name (he is deceased) and I'm trying to verify the birth info on his children (still living but I can't contact them).
    The births took place around the year 2000 in Texas. Is there a way I can search birth records with only the father's name? Any free sites or does everything require a fee or subscription?

Thanks

Sorry I can't help as I'm not familiar with American research. Welcome to FTF though and I hope someone will come along soon who can answer your query
    Chrissie passed away in January 2020.

Comment

I don't know anything about US records except they are kept state by state ....... but if they are anything like the Canadian, there is a blackout on recent bmds being available online

One possible line MIGHT be an announcement of the children's birth in the local newspaper
      My grandmother, on the beach, South Bay, Scarborough, undated photo (poss. 1929 or 1930)

Researching Cadd, Schofield, Cottrell in Lancashire, Buckinghamshire; Taylor, Park in Westmorland; Hayhurst in Yorkshire, Westmorland, Lancashire; Hughes, Roberts in Wales.

Comment

If the father is deceased might the children be named in an obituary notice.?

Comment

There are some Texas Births available at FamilySearch here.

Comment

Welcome to ftf!
            but I don't think I have good news for you. Here's familysearch's wiki about Texas births:

and especially look at what's above this line:
            NOTE: A copy of the birth certificate cannot be obtained by anyone except those listed above until 75 years have passed from the date of the birth.

Sometimes even if the birth cert can't be purchased, there might be an index, but I'm not seeing anything in that wiki page beyond 1997.

So, if you know where the births took place, you could try to find the local newspaper, and hope for a birth announcement.