Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Family History

Hi

I'm a newbie. I hope I'm on the right thread.

I'm interested in family research and in trying to locate information about my paternal grandmother's line. Her mother was Elizabeth Sarah Parry who was born about 1877 in Blakenley ( I think) Gloucestershire. She was a servant in 1881 aged 14 to a family in Gloucester as I found out from the census but I've been unable to find a birth or a death certificate for her. She married George Francis Wheeler in 1900 in Bristol and they moved to Devonshire by the 1911 Census. George died there in 1911. He worked for GWR but I don't know if Elizabeth returned to Gloucester or not. She may have remarried but I'm hitting brick walls with my research. I hope all that makes sense.

Many thanks for any help offered.

It looks like she was illegitimate which will explain why the entries for the marriage on familysearch.org do not mention a father's name for the bride. The - (dash) in the GRO index entry means the mother's maiden surname is the same as the child's.

PARRY, ELIZABETH SARAH -
    GRO Reference: 1875 M Quarter in MONMOUTH Volume 11A Page 28

Comment

wonder if this is her
      Parry, Sarah Elizabeth Mothers maiden name Whyatt
      GRO Reference: 1875 J Quarter in GLOUCESTER Volume 06A Page 311

Comment

dont know if you have any children ? could this be one
        Wheeler, Lilian Betty Martha mother PARRY
        GRO Reference: 1911 J Quarter in SAINT THOMAS Volume 05B Page 57

Comment

a possible death
          Elizabeth
          Last name Wheeler
          Gender Female
          Birth year 1875
          Age 66
          Death quarter 2
          Death year 1941
          District Cirencester
          County Gloucestershire
          Volume 6A
          Page 979

Comment