Understanding Military Records

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Understanding Military Records

I have the Army Military History Sheet of my grandfather which lists his service (summarised) as follows:
    Home From 23/3/1893 To 15/4/98
    China From 16/4/98 To 28/7/1903
    Home From 29/7/1903 To 22/3/1914
    Do I take this to mean that he left the Uk on 15/4/1898 (arrival in China unknown) & similarly arrived back in UK on 29/7/1903 (departure from China Unknown)?

Additionally is there any way to establish which ships he was on for these journeys?

That is exactly how I would read it but I'm no expert.

Is there anything in his records to tell you what his regiment etc is? You could then try google.

One of my great uncles was in the Boar war but I found out the ships name at Kew. Then google and found the exact day the ship let and arrived in England.

Sorry forgot to say welcome to the site.
    Lin

Searching Lowe, Everitt, Hurt and Dunns in Nottingham

Comment

Hi Lin & thanks for your welcome

He was in the RASC so that does not really help as they were stationed almost on an individual basis.

Comment

Later pages in my grandfather's records for WW1 showed the names of ships that he travelled on from Bombay to Basra, and then from Basra to the UK.

Missing is any information on when and how he left the UK, arrived in Bombay, or how long he spent in Bombay. He was in the MGC

Don't forget that only about 30% of the WW1 records have survived, and most of them are damaged and incomplete. I'm not sure whether all records pre-then are complete, or have been digitised.

But trying to find records online for the RASC could be very helpful. At least, the RASC was not disbanded and most records apparently destroyed after WW1 as happened to the MGC!
        My grandmother, on the beach, South Bay, Scarborough, undated photo (poss. 1929 or 1930)