Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should I name women according to their maiden name or married name?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I name women according to their maiden name or married name?

I'm new to this and wondering what is the practice for entering the surnames of women: by their maiden name or married name.
    My instinct is to use their maiden name as that should help searches UP the line. On the other hand, if I use their married names, it would help searches DOWN the line...
    Can anyone advise please?
    Many thanks!

I name women by maiden name that's their family line. I think ancestry automatically adds married name in hints and when you search

Comment

I routinely enter married women under their maiden names....it is a great help when you have a run of 'John SMITHs' in a line to differentiate them according to whether one was married to a 'Martha BLOGGS' or a 'Priscilla BROWN'

Beverley

Comment

Yes it is the usual convention to keep the woman's maiden name. Some people add the married name in brackets but it gets complicated if there is more than one marriage. You need to get used to discipline yourself to look for her death or further marriage with the 'current' name. I've wasted more than a bit of time by accidentally searching for the wrong name!
        Anne

Comment

Originally posted by Anne in Carlisle View Post
          Yes it is the usual convention to keep the woman's maiden name. Some people add the married name in brackets but it gets complicated if there is more than one marriage. You need to get used to discipline yourself to look for her death or further marriage with the 'current' name. I've wasted more than a bit of time by accidentally searching for the wrong name!
          Anne