adoption

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• adoption

I am new to the adoption procedure can anyone help, I have a certified copy of an entry in the adopted children's register but I am not quite sure about the information given on the certificate. The christian names of the adopted child are the same names I gave them when I applied for the certificate does this mean this was his birth name and the adoptive parents did not change them. I was hoping that it would give me his full name given by his birth parent/parents.

Where do I go from here do I contact agency that dealt with the adoption as it does give those details and the date of the adoption order, would really appreciate some help.
    GWEN

My understanding is that the adoption certificate is just that - a certificate of adoption which cannot be linked back to the child's birth certificate as it signifies the start of a new life for the child. Yes the adoption agency or other authorised agencies can then make the link, but this information is legally only available to the adopted person his/herself, or after a fairly recent ruling to children of the adoptee if he/she is deceased. I'm sure people with experience in this type of search will be able to give you more advice.
    Judith passed away in October 2018

Comment

I echo what Judith has said. Adoption is a private and often sensitive matter and there is normally no legal way for a third party to make the link between birth identity and adopted identity.

You can pay an accredited adoption researcher to find the information. They will act as a go between. They charge many hundreds of pounds and my only experience of such an agency was on this forum and it ended in a near disaster which I for one will never forget. (Unprofessional behaviour, to say the least).

OC
      Last edited by Olde Crone Holden; 28-04-17, 12:32.

Comment